cloNWtown’s Blog | Just another WordPress.com weblog

cloNWtown’s Blog | Just another WordPress.com weblog.

We Press On

I ain’t no Justice Burger,

ain’t no Ollie Wendell Holmes.

Haven’t got no inside track on

people’s rights inside their homes.

Never got my kicks from reading

U.S. Supreme Court Reports,

but I know the cops ain’t got the right

to check inside my shorts.

Getting bad here,

just like I thought could never be

when they taught in school how we live

in the brave home of the free.

We all know there’s laws in writing

that nobody’s ever kept.

They ain’t never been enforced, so

just ignore them, they’re no threat.

But it’s easy just to dust ’em

off and reinforce their might.

Few don’t like those folks just bust ’em.

See, the law says that you’re right.

Think I’ll join the state police force;

gonna run right down and sign.

Wanna have the law on my side,

ride the wave of rising crime.

Gotta make a living somehow,

see my riot helmet shine

in the light of law and order.

Now the Constitution’s mine!

Getting bad here,

just like I thought could never be

when they taught in school how we live

in the brave home of the free.

(Copyright: J. Risdon 2/2/91)

2 responses to “cloNWtown’s Blog | Just another WordPress.com weblog

  1. spelling?
    cloNWtown

Leave a Reply

